Skip to Main
June 30, 2022

Congresswoman Barragán Issues Statement in Response to Biden v. Texas Supreme Court Decision

30 June 2022

WASHINGTON, D.C.– Today, Congresswoman Nanette Diaz Barrgán (CA-44) released the
following statement regarding the Supreme Court’s decision to allow the Biden Administration
to end the Migrant Protection Protocols (MPP) put in place by the Trump Administration. MPP,
or “Remain in Mexico,” forces asylum seekers to remain in dangerous conditions in Mexico
while waiting for their asylum case to take place in the United States.

“Asylum seekers waiting in Mexico have been raped, kidnapped, murdered, extorted, and forced
to live in sub-standard conditions while waiting for their claims to be processed,” said Rep.
Barragán. “While the ruling by the Supreme Court is welcome news to the asylum seekers
forced to wait in Mexico, there is still uncertainty on timing because the Court sent the issue
back to the lower courts. Early last year, I was at the San Ysidro Port of Entry to greet some of
the first asylum seekers admitted into the United States as the Biden Administration started to
unwind the MPP program before the Administration was cruelly forced to reinstate the program.
Parents and children as young as 18 months were overjoyed to just set foot on American soil
after their experiences getting to the border and then being forced to wait back in Mexico. This
ruling is just one step towards a realignment of our immigration system to one that is humane,
fair, and transparent. Congress must pass legislation that further protects asylum seekers rights to
stay in the United States and improves our immigration system so that their cases can be quickly


Nanette Diaz Barragán is proud to represent California’s 44th Congressional District, which
includes the communities of Carson, Compton, Florence-Firestone, Lynwood, North Long
Beach, Rancho Dominguez, San Pedro, South Gate, Walnut Park, Watts, Willowbrook and
Wilmington. She serves as chairwoman of the House Homeland Security Committee’s
Subcommittee on Border Security, and on the House Energy and Commerce Health, Energy, and
Environment & Climate Change Subcommittees.