Skip to Main

Barragán & Thompson Statement on Expanding Eligibility for MPP-Enrolled Individuals to be Processed into the U.S.


June 22, 2021


Washington, D.C. – Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-Miss.), Chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, and Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-Calif.), Chairwoman of the Subcommittee on Border Security, Facilitation & Operations, released the following statement on news the Biden Administration has expanded criteria for MPP enrolled individuals to be processed into the United States.


“Today’s action by the Biden Administration is a step in the right direction.  Too many people were denied their right to due process and rejected for entry into the United States under the abhorrent ‘Remain in Mexico’ policy.


“By keeping migrants in dangerous conditions in Mexico, the Trump Administration ensured many people would not be able to appear at their hearings and their claims would be rejected.  Allowing these people to be eligible for processing is the right thing to do.”




Nanette Diaz Barragán is proud to represent California’s 44th Congressional District, which includes the communities of Carson, Compton, Florence-Firestone, Lynwood, North Long Beach, Rancho Dominguez, San Pedro, South Gate, Walnut Park, Watts, Willowbrook and Wilmington. She serves as chairwoman of the House Homeland Security Committee’s Subcommittee on Border Security.