Skip to Main

Chairs Thompson and Barragán Release Statement on the Biden Administration Formally Ending ‘Remain in Mexico’ Policy


June 1, 2021

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-Miss.), Chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, and Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-Calif.), Chairwoman of the Subcommittee on Border Security, Facilitation, & Operations, released the following statement on news the Biden Administration is formally ending the Trump Administration’s reprehensible ‘Remain in Mexico’ policy, which forced migrants to wait in inhumane conditions indefinitely before being allowed to come to the U.S.:

“We applaud the Biden Administration’s decision to formally end the abhorrent ‘Remain in Mexico’ policy and bring an end to the humanitarian disaster that the previous Administration created at the border. This policy was a stain on our nation’s history and our longstanding tradition of protecting refugees and asylum seekers.


“Despite Republican efforts to misrepresent U.S. asylum law and smear those fleeing violence and seeking asylum, we must remember that it is completely legal to come to the U.S. border and seek asylum. While the process has been underway to dismantle MPP and bring asylum seekers in the country, more still needs to be done to help those hurt by the policy and we look forward to working with the Administration on those efforts. We must ensure we have a just and humane asylum processing system.”


#  #  #